Search
Close this search box.
The Radar Free Press Logo

About Us

After many years of dreaming and planning, The Radar Free Press was started in 2023 by Nathan and Janel Stahr, who both have a rich history in and passion for the news business. 

After meeting while both employed for the local newspaper, Janel went on to work for an agri-business magazine company and together they ran a weekly entertainment newspaper for two years. While getting started with Stahr Media, they also designed, edited and wrote for a local monthly newspaper. In mid-2023, they purchased AroundPtown.com, a news website covering Prophetstown, Erie, Tampico, Lyndon, Deer Grove and Morrison.

Janel and Nathan can almost always be found within 3 feet of each other – usually commenting on politics and the news, of course – and they wouldn’t have it any other way! They reside in Rock Falls with their son, Quinn; their dog, Emmy; and their cats, Ozzy and Pixel. Their daughter, Grace, and her husband, Miguel, moved back to the Sauk Valley area after graduating college in spring 2024.

The goal of The Radar Free Press is to serve the local area with the most accurate information available, allowing citizens to be well-informed on issues that affect them, without having to pay to read the news. 

We are forever grateful for the support of our family members and friends, and especially for the local businesses and organizations that support us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any comments, questions or concerns.

Thanks for reading!

Meet Our Team

Sean Ports

Writer
sean@theradar.online

Emily Holcomb

Marketing Representative
emily@theradar.online

Sara Bellows

News Editor
news@theradar.online

Beth Patzka

News Editor
news@theradar.online

Gretchen Massey

Office Manager
gretchen@theradar.online

Janel Stahr

Owner & Publisher
janel@theradar.online

Nathan Stahr

Director of Operations
nathan@theradar.online

Michele Costanza

Marketing Representative
michele@aroundptown.com

Thank You for Contacting AroundPtown!

We have received your message and will be responding soon.

Skip to content